Build Dakota Scholarship Recipients for 2018-2019

  • 08/28/2018

This year, 356 students have been selected by the Build Dakota Scholarship Board - up from 285 recipients last year. Recipients were selected from a total of 1,150 applications.

The Build Dakota Scholarship program was announced in late 2014. The scholarship is funded by a $25 million donation from T. Denny Sanford and $25 million in future funds committed by Gov. Daugaard. The scholarships cover tuition and fees, books, equipment and other related programs expenses for eligible programs within eight high-need industry areas at South Dakota’s four technical institutes.

Build Dakota aims to support students entering high-need workforce programs at South Dakota’s technical institutes to fill the state’s technical career fields with skilled professionals. The $50 million provides approximately 300 full scholarships annually in each of the first five years of the scholarship program. From 2020 on, an endowment will continue to award approximately 50 scholarships per year.

In-state and out-of-state students are eligible to apply. Scholarship applicants must be accepted into their program of interest. Recipients of the scholarship must enroll full-time and complete their educational program on schedule. Scholarship recipients commit to stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.

Applications for the 2019-2020 school year open in January 2019. Find more information at

View the full list of scholarship recipients.