Founder & Board Members

Meet the Build Dakota Team

The Build Dakota Scholarship has provided approximately 1,900 students with the opportunity to graduate debt free and filled hundreds of high-need positions across the state. Meet the people who help make it happen: the founder and board members.

T. Denny Sanford

Chairman of the Board

First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard

After spending decades growing several businesses in the South Dakota region, Mr. Sanford’s focus turned to philanthropy. Through his foundation for charitable giving, he’s been able to help sick, disadvantaged children by supporting and establishing hospitals, pediatric centers and more nationwide. He has also shown substantial support for the fields of scientific and medical research, driving initiatives to build children’s clinics worldwide and research for Type 1 Diabetes and breast cancer cures. Mr. Sanford has many other major areas of funding around the country. To date, his total giving is over one billion dollars.

Dana J. Dykhouse

First PREMIER Bank

Dana has served in the roles of President and Chief Executive Officer of First PREMIER Bank since March 1995. He also currently serves on the boards of the Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Forward Sioux Falls, NorthWestern Energy Corporation, South Dakota Board of Technical Education and more. Dana has served in a variety of positions with financial institutions and state organizations throughout his career.

Dana Dykehouse

Terry Sabers

Terry Sabers

President (Retired)
Muth Electric, Inc.

A lifelong resident of South Dakota and a Mitchell Technical College graduate, Terry has helped Muth Electric grow and thrive in his time with the company. He also serves as a member of the South Dakota Board of Education and South Dakota Board of Technical Education, actively supporting technical education, business development and workforce issues across the state.

Diana Vanderwoude, RN, MS

Enterprise Vice President of Academic Affairs
Sanford Health

Diana was born and raised in Sioux Falls, SD. She has worked in healthcare for over 30 years after earning her master’s degree in nursing from South Dakota State University. Throughout her professional career, Diana has been passionate about leading workforce development efforts and has served on several boards and advisory councils, including the Southeast Technical College Foundation Board, Make-a-Wish Foundation of SD, the South Dakota Board of Technical Education and more.

Scott Knupe

Scott Knuppe

Caterpillar Black Hills Engineering Design Center

Scott was born and raised in the New Underwood, SD area. He earned his degree from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in 1992 and has been climbing the ranks at Caterpillar Inc. since. He now works in the high ranks of Caterpillar, serving at multiple locations both domestically and internationally. He also serves on the South Dakota Board of Technical Education.

Deb Shephard

President (Retired)
Lake Area Technical College

Before her retirement in June of 2014, Deb was employed at Lake Area Tech in various capacities since 1978. She began as an instructor and rose through multiple positions to President in 2006. She currently is a consultant and adjunct professor. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of South Dakota and her Master of Education degree from South Dakota State University. She also serves on the South Dakota Board of Education.

Deb Shephard

Greg Carmon

Greg Carmon

Midwest Railcar Repair, Inc.

Greg is owner of South Dakota’s only railcar repair and leasing companies: Midwest Railcar Repair, Inc., M&C Railcar Leasing, LLC, and Carmath, Inc. He employs over 150 skilled technical laborers in the repair and modification of railroad cars. Greg has been active in business development organizations in both Brandon and Sioux Falls over the past 15 years.

Bob Faehn

Managing Partner
TMRG Broadcasting

Bob is the managing partner of TMRG Broadcasting in Watertown, SD. He has been in the radio business since 1984 and currently owns and operates KXLG Radio. He is a member of the SD State Board of Technical Education. He previously served as president of the Skilled Workforce Advisory Council and the LATI Strategic Advisory Council. He is a current member and past president of the SD Broadcasters Association Board of Directors. Bob also served in the South Dakota State House of Representatives from 2005 – 2010 and was elected as the House majority leader during his final two years.

Bob Faehn

Learn More About Build Dakota Scholarships

About Build Dakota Scholarships

Industry Partners

About South Dakota Technical Schools