Board Members

The Board of Directors oversees the Build Dakota Scholarship Fund’s decisions and interests. Learn a little more about the people that help Build Dakota run smoothly.

Dana Dykhouse

Dana J. Dykhouse


First PREMIER Bank

Dana has served in the roles of President and Chief Executive Officer of First PREMIER Bank since March 1995. He also currently serves on the boards of the Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Forward Sioux Falls, NorthWestern Energy Corporation, South Dakota Board of Technical Education and more. Dana has served in a variety of positions with financial institutions and state organizations throughout his career.

Terry Sabers

Terry Sabers

President (RETIRED)

Muth Electric, Inc.

A lifelong resident of South Dakota and a Mitchell Technical College graduate, Terry has helped Muth Electric grow and thrive in his time with the company. He also serves as a member of the South Dakota Board of Education and South Dakota Board of Technical Education, actively supporting technical education, business development and workforce issues across the state.

Diana VanderWoude

Diana VanderWoude, RN, MS

Enterprise Vice President of Academic Affairs

Sanford Health

Diana was born and raised in Sioux Falls, SD. She has worked in healthcare for over 30 years after earning her master’s degree in nursing from South Dakota State University. Throughout her professional career, Diana has been passionate about leading workforce development efforts and has served on several boards and advisory councils, including the Southeast Technical College Foundation Board, Make-a-Wish Foundation of SD, the South Dakota Board of Technical Education and more.

Scott Knuppe

Scott Knuppe


Caterpillar Black Hills Engineering Design Center

Scott was born and raised in the New Underwood, SD area. He earned his degree from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in 1992 and has been climbing the ranks at Caterpillar Inc. since. He now works in the high ranks of Caterpillar, serving at multiple locations both domestically and internationally. He also serves on the South Dakota Board of Technical Education.

Deb Shepard

Deb Shephard

Former President (2006 – 2014)

Lake Area Technical COLLEGE

Before her retirement in June of 2014, Deb was employed at Lake Area Tech in various capacities since 1978. She began as an instructor and rose through multiple positions to President in 2006. She currently is a consultant and adjunct professor. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of South Dakota and her Master of Education degree from South Dakota State University. She was recently appointed to the South Dakota Board of Education.

Gerg Carmin

Greg Carmon


Midwest Railcar Repair, Inc.

Greg is owner of South Dakota’s only railcar repair and leasing companies, Midwest Railcar Repair, Inc., M&C Railcar Leasing, LLC, and Carmath, Inc. He employs over 150 skilled technical laborers in the repair and modification of railroad cars. Greg has been active in business development organizations in both Brandon and Sioux Falls over the past 15 years.

bob faehn

managing partner

TMRG Broadcasting

Bob is the managing partner of TMRG Broadcasting in Watertown, SD. He has been in the radio business since 1984, and currently owns and operates KXLG Radio in Watertown. He is a member of the SD State Board of Technical Education. He previously served as president of the Skilled Workforce Advisory Council and the LATI Strategic Advisory Council. He is a current member and past president of the SD Broadcasters Association Board of Directors.

He served in the South Dakota State House of Representatives from 2005-2010, and was elected as the house majority leader during his final two years.