• Home
  • News & Events
  • Build Dakota Scholarship Recipients Announced for 2016-17 School Year

Build Dakota Scholarship Recipients Announced for 2016-17 School Year

  • 08/15/2016

PIERRE, S.D. –The Build Dakota Scholarship Board announced the 300 recipients of Build Dakota scholarships for the 2016-17 School Year.

The scholarships cover tuition and fees, books, equipment and other related program expenses for eligible programs within eight high-need industry areas at South Dakota’s four technical institutes. Recipients were selected from a total of 1,300 applications.

The Build Dakota Scholarship program was announced in late 2014. The scholarship is funded by a $25 million donation from T. Denny Sanford and $25 million in future funds committed by Gov. Daugaard.

Build Dakota aims to support students entering high-need workforce programs at South Dakota’s technical institutes to fill the state’s technical career fields with skilled professionals. The $50 million provides approximately 300 full scholarships annually in each of the first five years, beginning in the fall of 2015. From 2020 on, an endowment will continue to award approximately 50 scholarships per year.

In-state and out-of-state students are eligible to apply. Scholarship applicants must be accepted into their program of interest. Recipients of the scholarship must enroll full-time and complete their educational program on schedule. Scholarship recipients commit to stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.

Applications for the 2017-18 school year open in January 2017. Find more information at www.builddakotascholarships.com.

View the full list of scholarship recipients.